The piazza was created at the beginning of the twentieth century in an area which covers the whole of the southern section of the historical center. While the work was being carried out, the remains of a Greek wall dating back to the fifth century were found. This find made it possible to confirm the eastern perimeter of the city of Neapolis as well as the exact location of the Hercolanense or Furcillense gates which, taking advantage of the natural defences offered by the soil, opened up in the vicinity of the Via Forcella. The wall continues past the gates in a northerly direction towards the lane which remains called 'Soprammuro' ('Above the wall') to this day. During the fourteenth and fifteenth centuries, the urban development taking place in the area reached its peak. The construction of Castel Capuano by the Normans in 1165 added to this development. The street names in this area are testament to the commercial developemts that were taking place: Candlemaker's Lane, Armourer's Lane, Engraver's Lane etc. The Angevin Court welcomed various monastic communities into the area and aided the construction of convent buildings and charitable institutions, e.g.: SantAgostino alla Zecca, Santa Maria Egiziaca delllmo and lAnnunziata. Buildings such as these, which can be seen today, underwent considerable changes during the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries. During the Reformation, the intricate Medieval system of little roads was replaced by much larger roads and major arteries which made it easier to access the Palazzo di Giustizia. The piazza is named after Vincenzo Calenda - the magistrate who argued that the law courts should not be housed in the royal palace.
Attractions & Landmarks