First constructed in 1339 as an oratory, it was then transformed into Casa della Disciplina, (House of Discipline), a hospital. The newer, current building was decided upon by the Brotherhood of Saint Mary in 1520. The construction, delayed for various decades, testifies to the 15th-century architectural evolution in Palermo. The architecture still adheres to the Catalan-Gothic style, the naves are of the Gaginesca school, and the octagonal rostrum is of the Renaissance style. Although many artworks were stolen over the years, the interior still contains many wonderful canvas oil paintings and panels of paintings in tempera.
- Open Hours: 8.30 - 13.00 15.30 - 17.30 lun, mar, ven; 8.30 - 13.00 mar, sab