Looking skyward while in Ballarò Market it is hard not to notice the superb baroque dome of the Carmine Church, with its multicolored majolica cap supported by four bearded telamons. The church was built between 1627 and 1667 by Mariano Smiriglio on commission from the Carmelitan Order, replacing a medieval church which still exists as a little chapel with folkish frescoes, and sits to the left of the current presbytery. The church is very simple outside - only a niche with a representation of the Virgin with Child adorns its bare facade - but inside it preserves many treasures, such as the rich main altar with its fine 18th-century wooden chancel. On the left side of the transept one can admire the Madonna del Carmine (Our Lady of Mount Carmel) altar with its painting of the same name, by Tommaso De Vigilia (1492), and its spiral columns decorated with stucco scenes, representing Holy Mary’s life by Giacomo and Procopio Serpotta. On the right side, the golden columns of Christs' altar are embellished by Serpottas' stuccoes representing the life of Jesus, and enclosed is a 16th-century wooden crucifix. In a chapel on this side there is also a fine statue of Saint Catherine (1521) by Antonello Gagini.
- Open Hours: Sunday to Saturday from 08:00 AM to 11:00 AM