St. Francesco da Paola’s was originally built in 1518, in late Gothic-Catalan style, to replace the little Church of St. Oliva. Given a Manieristic twist by the end of that century, during the 18th Century its interiors were covered with Baroque marble inlays. Only the ogival arches in the transept, the rib vaults and the chapel of St. Oliva can testify to the original 16th-century church. The facade also preserves a 16th-century marble portal featuring bas-reliefs of Holy Mary, of St. Francesco and of St. Oliva, by Giacomo Gagini. On the right side, a strong belfry stands stately. The interiors feature fine frescoes: noteworthy are the ones featuring the saint and scenes from his life by the so called Zoppo di Ganci (Ganci Cripple), whereas the frescoes of the Virtù Teologali (Holy Virtues) are by Vito D’Anna. The 18th-century altar is made with gold-encrusted copper and semi-precious stones. The chapel dedicated to St. Francesco, second on the right, hosts an 18th-century wooden altar with a frontal encrusted in coral. The fifth chapel on the left has a valuable marble icon by Antonio Gagini, featuring scenes of Santa Caterina’s life (1534). The chapel next to the presbytery hosts an 18th-century bust of St. Francesco by Vincenzo Gagini and an 18th-century altar front adorned with corals. The 16th-century funeral monuments of Laura Valguarnera and Adolfo Spinola can be admired in the second chapel on the right.