The building combines architectural style and vision of space in a way that agrees with the business needs of the new capitalist class, the revival of trade and finance in Sicily. Built in the 18th Century, the building was a private residence until the early 20th Century. The building was purchased in 1921 by the Jungs - a Jewish family with roots in Switzerland who came to town in the 19th Century in order to establish an export of dried fruit, wood, citrus and sumac - who made the palazzo their residence, and remained the owners until 1958. Purchased in 1959 by the Provincial Agency for Tourism, the building was intended as a Professional Institute State Hotel, until the mid-1980s, when the Institute moved, leaving the residence in total neglect until 2000 when the province started restoration work. The neoclassical structure has strong appeal, as do many contemporary buildings of Palermo, which can be seen on the pediment, especially the entrance with columns and the narrow balconies. The palace overlooks Lincoln Street, and is practically right across from the Botanical Gardens.
Attractions & Landmarks, Arts & Museums