The zone of Navicella is named after the stone reproduction of an ancient Roman ship in the fountain in front of the church of Santa Maria in Domnica. In this area, the remains of ancient buildings have been found - in particular, nymphaeums and houses. These remains are thought to have been the original barracks of the Fifth Cohort. Until 1820, to the south of the church only the remains of a building dedicated by the 5th Cohort to the Emperor Caracalla had been found, but in 1931, following work on the entrance of the Villa Celimontana, further remains were found of the same building. The entire building is extended on the right of the church as far as Porta Metronia but its limits are unknown. This uncertainty is compounded by the discovery, inside the church, of the remains of various rooms with decorated walls that may have belonged to the same barracks. It is known that the church was built beside or above a public building that had lost its original function by the 7th Century.
Attractions & Landmarks
- Nearest Train: S. Giovanni