The palace on the lovely Via Giulia was bought by the state of Hungary in 1928, since which it has been the home of the Hungarian Academy. Here cultural initiatives are held, providing a meeting point between the Hungarian and Italian cultures. Design of the palace was by Bramante whom Pope Julius II had commissioned to design a road to connect Ponte Sisto to Ponte Trionfale together with buildings on either side. However, the final touches to this palace were added by Borromini, without spoiling the 16th c. structure of the building. The palace was named after Orazio Falconieri who bought it from the Farnese family in 1638. Inside there is a magnificent stairway and richly decorated ceilings.
Attractions & Landmarks
- Nearest Train: Ottaviano - San Pietro