Porta Angelica lies along the last section of the road that connects Castel Sant'Angelo to the Vatican - just below the colonnade of St Peter. It was built (like the rest of the defensive walls) by Pope Pius IV who was baptized Angelo and therefore had the gateway dedicated to the Guardian Angels. It currently has two fornixes, the original one from 1563 and the more recent one built in 1932. The gate marks the end of the road of the same name that has recently undergone restoration for the Jubilee. The road includes one of the entrances to the Vatican City (St Anne's Gate) that is protected by Swiss guards. On the right there is the church of Sant'Anna dei Palafrenieri and to the left the barracks of the Swiss Guards.
Attractions & Landmarks
- Nearest Train: Ottaviano-S. Pietro