The two enormous statues in the Tempio dei Castore e Polluce are Roman copies of Greek sculptures and date back to the 5th Century BC. They represent Castor and Pollux, patrons of riders, and they were placed at the entrance of the Terme di Costantino. Pope Sixtus V had the statues restored in 1588 and moved to the piazza when Quirinale became a papal residence. The Obelisk was placed here two centuries later, having been transferred from the Mausoleo di Augusto. It was joined by a large trough in the 1800s from which horses and other beasts were watered.
Attractions & Landmarks
- Nearest Train: Colosseo