Via del Portico d'Ottavia was a type of boundary for Jewish people confined to the Ghetto. The Jewish Ghetto was created in 1500 following an order by Paul IV and the Jewish people of Rome have lived here since 1870. The left side of the street has remained almost unchanged. There are some very interesting Medieval and Renaissance buildings, such as the house of Lorenzo Manilio at numbers one-two, and the buildings at numbers eight-eleven and twelve-fifteen. They all have picturesque windows and porticos. There is also the church of San Gregorio a Ponte Quattro Capi, known as the church of the Divina Pietà and, at the bottom of the street, the old remains of the Portico d'Ottavia.
Attractions & Landmarks
- Nearest Train: Colosseo