The Gavi arch is located at the center of the piazzeta del Castelvecchio: this is not its original location (which was up by the Torre degli Orologi del Castelvecchio), because it was taken down in 1805 due to structural problems, and only rebuilt in 1932, thanks to a new interest in Palladian structures. It was built in the first half of the 1st Century CE, by the architect Lucio Vitruvio Cerdone (whose name is carved on one of the pillars), in honor of the Gavi family. Two streets met under the four rectangular pillars: Via Postumia and another street (of which a part still remains with its large paving stones). Later it was transformed into one of the city gates: it is one of the rare examples of an honorary Roman arch dedicated to private citizens.
Attractions & Landmarks