This famous Cork landmark stands on the hilly slopes of the city, north of the River Lee. Built in 1722, the church has a facade made of limestone on two sides and of red sandstone on the other two. The steeple is topped by a weather vane in the shape of a salmon. The clock face is known locally as the "four-faced liar" because, until 1986 when it was repaired, each face showed a slightly different time. Visitors can climb the tower and for a small fee, ring the famous Bells of Shandon. Services take place at 10a on Sundays.
Photo Spots / Photography, Attractions & Landmarks, Religious