The original church on this site was raised by the Normans in 1178 and named after the King of Mercia's daughter, the Abbess Werburgh. Re-designed by Thomas Burgh in 1715, and then again following a fire in 1754, the church's Georgian interior is as interesting as it is attractive. The Guinness family are commemorated inside and Lord Edward Fitzgerald, of the 1798 rebellion, lies in a tomb beneath the church. Other items of interest include the Gothic pulpit, created by Richard Stewart, and the organ case which dates back to 1767.
Attractions & Landmarks, Religious,
Festivals & Fairs