This Franciscan Friary, colloquially known as "The Abbey", was originally founded in 1296 on St. Stephen's Island. In 1438, Pope Eugenius IV was so impressed with the Friary that he decreed a school for advanced theological study to be established at the Friary in Galway. The old church became a courthouse in the 1600's and in 1820 the present friary was built, although it was not consecrated until 1849. The "Abbey" was extensively refurbished in 1997-98 and today five Friars serve the community as well as providing church services. The Friars also act as Chaplains to the local schools.
Attractions & Landmarks, Religious