Consecrated in 1864, this lovely church was designed by Charles Hansom. According to local tradition, the priest behind its construction had the spire topped with a cockerel to overlook the office of the local landlord's agent. The agent had refused to donate a site for the church and the priest wanted the cock to "crow" over the agent's office for eternity. Inside the church are some very fine carved features including the chancel, organ, and magnificent ceiling. All of the necessary wood was imported from the Black Forest in Germany. Sister Cusack (The Nun of Kenmare) presented the Stations of the Cross to the church. She was responsible for initiating and developing Kenmare's famous lace industry.
Attractions & Landmarks, Religious