Designed by Charles Hansom, who also designed the adjacent Holy Cross Church, the convent is a large, impressive building. The Poor Clare Order founded the convent in 1862 and it became a lace-making centre in this very same year. As an attempt to relieve poverty left by the Irish Potato Famine, Mother Superior Sister Cusack established a unique lace-making industry. Women from the town were taught the necessary skills and worked on the lace at the convent. Kenmare lace quickly became known around the world for its unique beauty and quality. The Kenmare order of Poor Clare sisters moved to new premises in 1993.
Attractions & Landmarks, Religious