Built by the Earl of Desmond in 1398 for the Franciscans, this friary was in use until 1714. Today all that remains is a ruin. This is a structure steeped in history, with occasionally gory moments. It was burned in 1579 and some of the friars were massacred. The Friary has some of Ireland's finest stone carvings, a nave and chansel, and also a north transept. Of great interest is the excellently preserved cloister, which is situated to the south of the church. In the northeast corner is a representation of St. Francis. The dormitory area is situated over the cloister, which is usual in the Franciscan style of building. Some other features of architectural importance are the windows and the wall seats.
Attractions & Landmarks, Educational, Sports and the Outdoors, Religious