The old Convento de San Gil, also known as 'Gilitos', as it once belonged to the Franciscan religious order, has housed the Cortes de Castilla la Mancha (Regional Assembly of Castilla la Mancha) since 1983. The building, which does not admit visitors, was built between 1610 and 1918. The convent later served as a provincial prison from 1860-1939 after the Catholic Church lost title to it. In more recent times, it has also been used as a fire and police station prior to becoming the regional assembly in 1986. The lovely view of the Tajo river from the balcony is also worth mentioning.
Photo Spots / Photography, Attractions & Landmarks
- Nearest Train: Bus: 3