Built by Ricardo Magdalena, it was inaugurated in 1895. The building was the Faculty of Medicine & Science, a hospital and a morgue. It was surrounded by an iron fence which no longer stands, as it impeded traffic. At the end of the staircase are four seated statues: two doctors and two scientists. All around the building are medallions with faces of illustrious doctors and scientists. In the interior stands a statue of Santiago Ramón y Cajal, a student and professor here who received the Nobel Prize for Medicine.
Attractions & Landmarks