The monastery is 10km from Zaragoza on the road to Montañana and Peñaflor. Like so many other buildings in the city (Lonja, Saint Bernard Chapel, etc) it was built under the patronage of the archbishop Hernando de Aragón, a cousin of Carlos V. The monastery was founded in 1563. An impressive wall surrounds it and there is a cloister within. There are still monks living there. The monastery was abandoned in 1835 due to National Expropiation but in 1903 the monks returned. In 1774 the painter Francisco de Goya painted seven wall paintings. It is open the last Saturday every month. It is open on the last Sat of each month. Admission is free.
Attractions & Landmarks, Religious