It is possible that there was previously a Romanesque church on the same site, but the oldest part of this one which is preserved dates back to the 14th century. This was once one end of the city, next to Puerta del Duque (a painting in the building opposite commemorates this city gate). The church of San Miguel has a square tower, not as ornately decorated as San Gil or Santa María Magdalena churches. The main altar, by Damián Forment, is made of wood and was dedicated to San Miguel (1519). The painter Goya´s parents married in 1736 in this church. Mass is celebrated M-F at: 8:30a, 9:30a, 7p & 8p; Sa-Su 8:30a, 9:30a, 6p, 7p & 8p.
Attractions & Landmarks, Religious