The Rheinbrücke, also known as the Mittlere Brücke, has existed in its current form since 1903-1905. Apart from the small chapel in the middle of the bridge, there is now very little left to suggest its rich history. The first wooden bridge was built in 1225 by Bishop Heinrich von Thun. It was the only bridge over the Rhine for miles around, which brought great wealth and importance to the city. The Käppelijoch chapel was built in 1356. Next to it was a place of execution, where criminals were tossed into the Rhine. Too many people survived this torture, so in 1634 they changed the punishment to beheading.
Attractions & Landmarks
- Nearest Train: Schifflände: Tram 1, 6, 8, 11, 14 & 16