These woods take their name from the Bastie-Mellié fort built in 1318 and destroyed in the 16th century. In 1869 the Turrettini brothers left the land to the city on the condition that it be kept as a public park. Over the years additional land has been acquired and today Bois de la Bâtie covers more that 20 hectares. A large paddling pool, a challenging playground, and a river means there is plenty to do. There is also a small zoo (no entrance fee). The tired and hungry can refresh themselves in one of the two restaurants.
Parks, Gardens & Cemeteries, Sports and the Outdoors