Early in the 15th Century, The Guild of the Holy Cross established this row of almshouses for the well being of elderly local people. In 1553, when The Guild was suppressed, the almshouses were granted by charter to the borough of Stratford, together with the adjoining school (King Edward VI Grammar School) and the Guild Chapel. Although a program of renovation and modernization of the almshouses was completed in 1984, the outward appearance, with its timber framing and overhanging upper story, is more or less unchanged.
Attractions & Landmarks
- Credit Cards Accepted: mastercard, visa