This is a grand old church standing impressively amongst mature trees. It is set back from the street on raised ground and is literally minutes away from the city center. Historically it is a gem. It was used as a religious house prior to the Norman Conquest, and at some point after 1066, it became The Benedictine Priory and was given to a French abbey. In 1086, it was mentioned in the Doomsday Book. Sadly, it was almost destroyed after the suppression of the monasteries in 1538 but parts of it managed to survive. Some sections of the building seen today date back to 1829 and were built after the restoration period.