Here lies the most famous of Antigua's historical sugar plantations on a rolling stretch of prime land with panoramic vistas over ocean and lumbering, shadowed hills. The famous Sir Christopher Codrington was granted this estate by the English Crown in 1674. Arriving from Barbados and convinced that sugar would be "king" in the future, he named the estate after his daughter, and his hope that he was right. Today, the mill has been restored. The cane-crushing machinery is in working order, and new wings and sails have been reconstructed to the original specifications. A small adjacent museum echoes the hardships of the estate's slaves. Other insights include how sugar and rum were produced long ago.
Photo Spots / Photography, Attractions & Landmarks, Parks, Gardens & Cemeteries, Sports and the Outdoors