Constructed by the British in 1820, Fort Cunningham encompasses most of Paget Island's 15 hectares (37 acres). In the 1880s, the fort was fortified with incredible firepower, including the 40 ton, high-caliber, muzzle-loaded guns. The two cannons of that type still remain there today. There are only four others known to be in existence. In later years during World War II, the fort saw action as a prisoner of war camp for German and Austrian officers. Fort Cunningham is administered by the government. Unfortunately much of the stronghold was left to decay. There is no scheduled boat service to the island, but it is open to the public. Entrance to the fort, however, is forbidden. Contact the tourism board for more information.
Attractions & Landmarks