This edifice gets its name from the animal gargoyles which can be seen over its main entrance. Throughout history, the building has had many functions. First it was the Don José Fernández' residence, then it belonged to the Jesuits until 1767 when they were thrown out of Spain and her territories. Later it became a center for economic activities. Between 1792 and 1801 it housed the San Fernando seminary and in 1883 it became the center for the Esperanza Masonic Lodge, where the Dominican national anthem was sung for the first time. Finally, it again made its way into government hands and was given to the Dominican Foundation for Development.
Attractions & Landmarks