This church was founded in 1510 by the Dominican fathers Pedro de Cordoba, Anton de Montesinos, Bernardo de Santo Domingo and a lay brother. In 1532 the first chair of theology was established here, which in 1538 made way for the first university in America, today the Independent University of Santo Domingo. In 1746 repairs were made, including decorative baroque additions to the gothic structure of its façade. In 1825 it was closed, then later reopened to house various other religious orders, but in 1954 the Dominicans reclaimed their old home when the order returned to the country. Open to visitors one hour before the masses daily.
Attractions & Landmarks, Religious, Arts & Museums