Earlier known as the "Closed Gate of the Santo Domingo Wall", for many years it was used to defend the city. Later it was opened and fortified at which time its name was changed to the Count's Gate. At the end of the 17th century both the gate and the fortifications were torn down and reconstructed. On February 27, 1844 it became a national symbol since it was here that those heros in favor of independence declared that they wanted freedom. Because of this its official name was changed to the Gate of February 27th in 1833 though Dominicans still call it the Count's Gate.
Attractions & Landmarks