In 1523, shortly after San Juan was founded, Dominican friars established the Dominican Convent. It was the first convent in Puerto Rico, and it provided shelter to women and children during Caribbean attacks. The Friars lived there until 1838, when the Spaniards closed down the monastery and turned it into military quarters. The American Army used it as its headquarters until 1966. Today, Gregorian chants help re-create the historical significance of the days long gone. On the ground floor is a small chapel museum displaying religious artifacts and some of the city's finest objet d'art. Admission is free.
Attractions & Landmarks, Religious