The first structure for what is currently known as the mother church of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese in San Fernando was built in 1823 by Father Onesime Christophe of Guadaloupe. That structure was demolished and rebuilt in 1950 by Father Sabastien Webber, a Benedictine monk. The current structure was dedicated in June, 1975. Previously known as the Notre Dame de Bon Secours Church, parishoners and residents of South Trinidad are calling for Our Lady of Perpetual Help to be elevated to cathedral status.
Attractions & Landmarks, Religious