The 1913 Florida vernacular-style house built of Dade County pine originally belonged to Frank Stranahan, one of the first to settle among the Seminole Indians in the city that we now know as Fort Lauderdale, and his wife, Ivy Cromartie, the first teacher in the New River settlement. Over the years, this edifice has served as a trading post, town hall, restaurant, post office and bank. Today it’s been restored to its early-20th century configuration under the auspices of the Fort Lauderdale Historical Society and is appointed with furniture that exemplifies the Victorian-style furnishings of the times. Tours take place daily at 1, 2 and 3PM. Admission is $12 for adults, $11 for seniors and $7 for children.
Attractions & Landmarks, Arts & Museums
- Credit Cards Accepted: mastercard, amex, visa