This park is called Academy Park because it was the site of the private Lewiston Academy, a four-story school building which was constructed here in 1824. All the best students in Western New York and Southern Ontario attended this high school. It featured a modern chemistry lab for its day, a library and observatory. It closed in 1851, and re-opened briefly a few times in the late 1800s. It stood vacant for a number of years, eventually being torn down in the 1930s. All that remains of the school is the cornerstone in the northeast corner of the park. Today the park, which has picnic area, a baseball diamond, and a bandstand, is the site of many popular Lewiston festivals, including the Art Fest in August and the Peach Festival in September.
Parks, Gardens & Cemeteries